Five ‘Must Read’ Books! … Right Now!

I was a little late to ‘The Girl on the Train’ party (as I usually am with these things). The book didn’t catch my eye until I saw a movie trailer for it a few months back. The book is a New York Times Best Seller that was published back in January 2015 and was quickly picked up to be a motion picture starring Emily Blunt (who I obviously love because she’s married to John Krasinski) … but anyways. I picked up the book because I was determined to read it before I watched the movie (knowing full well I always like the book version better than the movie version – but who doesn’t?). I did a lot of solo traveling for work this summer and spent a lot of time sitting in airports alone. The best thing to occupy my time was a book and so I picked this one up in July before my 2nd trip. And let me tell you, it was a page-turner! I literally couldn’t put it down. I was at a cottage one weekend while I was still reading the book and you couldn’t get me to do any fun cottage things because I just wanted to know what was going to happen! Ha, read: nerd alert!

If you haven’t heard the hype, the book is a psychological thriller about Rachel, a woman who takes the same commuter train every morning and night. One day she sees something shocking and her whole world changes. She has to go to the police and eventually gets pulled into the whole investigation. I’m telling you, it’s amazing.

But alas, the book finished and I felt sad. Sad because I didn’t have this great book to read, sad because I wanted more! Damn you Paula Hawkins for only writing one psychological thriller (her other books are considered romantic comedies and not my cup of tea). So, I went on a mad hunt to find books that a fan of ‘The Girl on the Train’ would enjoy. Lots of lists, blogs, and recommendations later, I’ve come up with a good list to keep me busy for the next while. If you’re like me and are craving some post ‘The Girl on the Train’ action, check out these ones (I promise they don’t disappoint):

  1. I Let You Go’ by Clare Mackintosh: A good friend of mine suggested this (she read it for a book club) and it’s also been reviewed by Paula Hawkins. The book follows Jenna Gray after she moves away following a traumatic, life-changing accident, trying to heal from the loss of her child and her painful past. With dual storylines, you’ll also learn about the police investigations in Bristol as they try to understand and solve a hit-and-run. As the stories intertwine, you’ll be left shocked at the twist!
  2. The Good Girl’ by Mary Kubica: Mia Dennett is stood up one night by her on-again, off-again boyfriend and but she doesn’t go home alone. Leaving with the stranger from the bar, Colin Thatcher might seem like a good idea at the time but could be the worst mistake of her life. The book goes back and forth, from the point of view of Mia, her mother, and the detective as her loved ones try to find out where she’s gone and she tries to stay alive. The book is a bit hard to follow at the beginning (I didn’t realize that it was going back and forth from before and after the accident) so make sure you read the chapter titles! OH, and definitely read the epilogue. I almost didn’t but I’m really glad I did.
  3. The Widow’ by Fiona Barton: When your husband dies, you no longer have to keep his secrets … right? Jean Taylor spent a lifetime protecting her husband and hiding who she really is but now that he’s gone, she can finally be free. She did a good job at hiding the truth and now she’s able to move on with her life but what will she divulge? What will she keep to herself? I will say that I read this book during a few late night flights where I wanted to stay awake (haha, impossible for me usually – I once passed out before the plane took off and didn’t wake up until we landed) but this book kept me awake the whole time. I couldn’t put it down! It’s an eerie story that keeps you wanting more.
  4. The Couple Next Door’ by Shari Lapena: So, I’ve just started this book two days ago and I’m already half finished – powering through, people! It’s about a couple who is next door at a dinner party when a terrible crime is committed. They quickly become the centre of the investigation and you begin to question who you can and cannot trust. How well do they know their neighbours, how well does the couple know each other? I just hit the plot twist and am trying to secretly read at my desk because I just can’t stop. I’ll let ya’ll know how it goes but so far so good!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s